The Butterfly and the Bee

So begins an epic tale of the Butterfly and the Bee…

In addition to new world class landscapes, a great Walter Mitty fantasy of all true wilderness landscape photographers is to find some new undiscovered species of plant or animal.

Then, to be the very first person in the whole world to photograph them. Maybe the new species will be named after its discoverer – you! That would be so cool.

The type of shallow photographers seeking that sort of cheap, self-serving recognition are the ones who like the most isolated, undisturbed places in existence.

Yup! That’s me, all right.

Heck, I’m so shallow that if I were a creek the soles of your hiking boots would barely get damp crossing me.

The Butterfly

One day, like always, I was out seeking fame and fortune. I passed through the Clarno Unit of the John Day Fossil Beds. There was nary a soul around for miles.

I stopped to take a leak in the bushes… uhh… I mean… study the local flora and fauna.

Suddenly, I spotted a unique butterfly fluttering about. It had these weird antennae-like thingies waving independently all around on the back sides of it’s wings.

Instantly, I knew this was it… my moment of glory had arrived! I pulled up my pants. I quickly assembled my macro setup and rushed off to make history!

I chased that little bugger all over the place for 40 minutes until I got a couple iffy shots.

The Bee

As fate would have it, lightening struck twice in the same place on the same day.

I saw a strangely marked bee like no other I’d ever seen before. I knew it!  I would have TWO new species named after me on this day.

Off to give chase I went again. Another 30 minutes of sweaty work and I had my prize.

In great triumph, I punched my camera high above my head! I held up the 5DII with attached 100mm macro lens and affixed MT-24 EX Twin Light Macro Flash… waving it around for no one in particular to see.

Conclusion

Once back home behind the ol’ workstation, it took about 15 minutes of Internet research to confirm my finds.

I’d independently discovered two of the most common insects in the entire western United States.

Oh well, there is always next time!

About azleader

Learning to see life more clearly... one image at a time!
This entry was posted in Desert, environment, Fauna, Flora, Insects, life, Oregon, Photography, photos, stories. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Butterfly and the Bee

  1. Great photos. You are very skilled. Also congratulations on your discoveries! 🙂

    • azleader says:

      Thanks… if I keep plugging away I’ll find something rare.

      There is a strange plant in the Owyhee I photographed that I can’t explain and can’t find in any wildflower book either… and I own a bunch.

      What makes the plant strange is the wildflowers grow down and under broad leafs but then turn back upright beneath the leaves. Its weird.

      And that plant isn’t all that far away from a very rare plant I did photograph and identify.

  2. Wiepkjen says:

    I have never seen these bees before either. Well I live in a different part of the world, so may that is way. They are beautiful. Great shots!

Leave a Reply

