Bad Day Turned Good

Yesterday was a bad day!

Ya know… one of those days you work like a slave for zillions of hours on end while sitting in one spot nailed to the chair, yet can’t accomplish diddly-squat? Then you get hung-up on the stupidest dingy things that makes your head wanna explode.

I hate days like that. With one pleasant discovery, though, it all changed.

During an afternoon break I discovered I had not missed the annual tulip festival! I was almost 100% certain I had.

Not only that, I saw that a camera store was holding a 4-hour macro photography class at the festival… and it is this week!

I really, really, really like macro photography. As a kid I used to take the 55mm normal lens off my Mamiya-Seykor 1000DTL and flip it around backwards for a makeshift macro lens to photograph 4-leaf clover (Trifolium repens).

Good Luck!

Bad Luck!

To treat myself for having a bad day, I decided to spring $10 bucks to take the class.

Yeah! Your impressed… I’m the last of the big spenders!

I’m proud to say I’ve never had a lesson in macro photography in my life.

A couple years ago I got me a primo Canon macro setup… Canon 5DII, 100mm macro lens, Manfroto tripod that lowers all the way down to ground level and an MT-24EX Twin Light Macro Flash. I’m ready for bare!! Whoops, I mean, I’m ready for bear!

The best part? For the class they bring all Canon equipment. They let you borrow and use the equipment they bring.

I’m dying to try out Canon’s new 100mm f/2.8L IS USM macro lens. It’s the hot replacement for mine. I can’t hardly wait to get my grass-stained, mud-covered, grubby-stubby fingers on it!

They’ll rue that day they took my $10 bucks! The great thing about the Net is I can sign up for stuff before they ever meet me and have a chance to change their minds. That’ll teach ’em!

The class is tomorrow.

I’m looking forward to having a good time and might even take a couple shots to share.

Anyone think they’d notice if one of their precious little $1,000 lenses accidentally got lost in the tulips? It happens, ya know!

About azleader

Learning to see life more clearly... one image at a time!
This entry was posted in Culture, environment, Events, Flora, Insects, life, Oregon, Photography, photos, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Bad Day Turned Good

  1. The Pal Guy says:

    wow these are stunning photographs. The water drops on the pants are wonderful and it was great you were able to catch the mantis in action. Good job.

    • azleader says:

      Thank you for your kind remarks.

      The water droplets come courtesy of the flora photographer’s best friend… a spray bottle.

      Mantis are deceptive. They remain absolutely still without a hint of movement… you’d never suspect anything… then they strike with lightning speed and deadly result.

  2. aFrankAngle says:

    Outstanding photos … and thanks for sharing your skills! I froze in a stare on the first one.

  3. azleader says:

    Thanks… that first one I took specifically for its bokeh.

  4. Hi! Iam nominating you for the Thanks For Writing Award and The Beautiful blog award. Please go to my site for the pictures of the awards. WordPress has rules for the awards.

    • azleader says:

      Thank you for your kind appreciation. I’m humbled by your nominations. I should write articles here more often. 🙂 Photography is a fun release for me.

Leave a Reply

