The Tulip Festival Test

Earlier this week I’d had a bad day so, to cure the blues, then decided to treat myself to a macro photography class at a tulip festival. I even paid for the class. I was desperate!

My grandiose vision was to arrive at sunrise and take a bunch of world-class, award-winning tulip photographs. Then, of course, at the class I would overshadow the instructor and “wow!” all attendees with my knowledge and genius.

I’d have done all that if the weather would have cooperated. It didn’t.

It was 100% overcast and windy at sunrise. On queue, a massive cloudburst of biblical proportions deluged the tulips at the exact moment the class ended.

Instead, I went with plan “B”.

As Canon often does, it allows attendees at classes it sponsors to try out their equipment. I took that opportunity to give the Canon 100mm f/2.8L IS USM macro lens a challenging blustery workout.

All these pictures were taken with that lens under less than ideal conditions.

Click on any one of the images to see them at 800 pixels.

About azleader

Learning to see life more clearly... one image at a time!
This entry was posted in Current Events, environment, Flora, life, Oregon, Photo, Photography, photos, stories, Tulips. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The Tulip Festival Test

  1. Very nice, I love this lens. Where did you shoot tulips?

    • azleader says:

      Tulips shot at the Wooden Shoe Tulip Festival near Woodburn, Oregon. I haven’t made the official comparison yet, but I think it puts my Canon 100mm f/2.8 Macro. The “L” version is a huge step up… of course, it costs about 3X more.

  2. J.b. Smith says:

    Looks like you were up in my neck of the woods shooting the fields our of Mt. Vernon. I love overcast days and a bit wet for shooting our there! Richer colors. I might have been out the same day doing a shoot for an artist friend.

  3. Wiepkjen says:

    Amazing shots, especially the first two ;-). That lens looks great. Very contrasty and rich colours. Did you do a lot of pp?

    • azleader says:

      I did some, but not much… mostly spot removal with LR. I’m off today to the tulipo fields today to take comparison photos with my own 100mm macro… I’ll show the results.

  4. aFrankAngle says:

    And you successfully turned your treat into one for us.

  5. drangedinaz says:

    I love the third one down, the purple tulip. Would be a great painting

Leave a Reply

