Tulip Festival… Round Two!

The Saturday after my first ill-fated foray to the tulip fields I made a 2nd ill-fated trip back.

This time, though, my main mission was to take macros with my own 100mm macro lens and compare them with the upgraded “L” glass 100mm macro lens I’d tried out on the previous Thursday.

Pictures in this article are taken with my own lens. The ones in the previous article are taken with the newer 100mm “L” glass macro I don’t own… yet. πŸ˜‰

After the 2nd attempt debacle just completed, I’m feeling the call of the wild. I gotta get back out to parts unknown as far from humanity as possible. That’s where I belong. I function better there.

But I do want that new piece of glass. I like it, but suffer from a common photographer ailment… I don’t wanna pay the $1,000+ for a lens close to one I already got.

My photo equipment supplier sees it different, though. He already ordered it and called to tell me it is in. LOL!!!

On a lark, I’d made the 2nd tulip trip two days after the first. Saturday morning arrived partly cloudy and calm as a mirrored lake. Perfect for outdoor macro photography! So I grabbed my camera bag just after a cloudy sunrise and off I sped, energized.

But as fate would have it, another day of amusing embarrassment was to be my fate.

The first sign of trouble was right after I’d photographed the very same flower I’d photographed previously with the other new lens two days earlier. Both were 1:1 macro! I flung my bag over my shoulder to go elsewhere and out came a menagerie of miscellaneous camera paraphernalia from a pocket I’d failed to zip.

Filters, a blow brush and a microphone flew to the ground… more embarrassing than damaging anything.Β  I glanced around to see if folks noticed that “the pro” made a boo-boo.

Then I moved on to other embarrassments that would deflate the ego of lesser photographers, but not me!

There had been rain. The fields were drying. Only thing left were a few big mud puddles. With the deft skill of an ugly duckling, I managed to roll my camera bag right into the middle of the largest puddle within a quarter mile while pursuing a tulip blossom!

At least this time I had all the zippers zipped!

But the coup d’Γ©tat was when I tried to remove the bulky MT-24 macro flash to switch lenses and take other types of pictures. It was stuck! It was impossible to remove! The MT-24 only fits the old 100mm lens. If you can’t take off the flash, you basically can’t work at all.

There I was… left hanging like a disappointed lover!

I decided the better part of valor was to give it up and run for the hills. So I did.

Final analysis… the newer 100mm “L” glass is better than the 100mm I already got. Dang!! I hate when that happens.

About azleader

Learning to see life more clearly... one image at a time!
This entry was posted in Art, environment, life, Lifestyle, Oregon, Photography, photos, stories, Thoughts, Tulips. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Tulip Festival… Round Two!

  1. Wiepkjen says:

    You made some wonderful pictures though. Very clever to come up with something original with a subject like tulips. To be quite honest though, I don’t think you need that new lens. These pics look absolutely fine to me πŸ˜‰

    • azleader says:

      I’m very demanding. Image quality is prerequisite to great photography, except photojournalism, of course. The images above are OK, but I can clearly see the newer lens has superior optics.

      If I could properly capture the images I commonly see in the landscapes I visit, I’d be happier. But seeing and properly capturing can be elusive. I need all the help I can get!

      I go back and forth about the lens. It would be better for properly documenting new species of plants or insects I might happen upon in my wanderings. πŸ˜‰

      It’s “L” glass construction matters where I go, too. I don’t have the luxury to treat a lens with kid gloves. Dust and wind is everywhere in the deserts I frequent.

      I need to extend my range beyond 600mm, too. That is just not far enough to properly photograph skittish wild horses running free. That is where I should invest. πŸ™‚

    • azleader says:

      Truth be known… these pictures are fine, but the newer 100mm is much better quality. And THAT, in the final analysis, is all that matters.

  2. Wiepkjen says:

    You convinced me πŸ™‚ I was only teasing though. Of course these pictures are nog big enough to really judge the quality of the lenses used.
    More than 600mm sounds great too. But you will not only need a lot of money but also a lot of muscle power to lug such a lens along.

    • azleader says:

      You are correct, of course… I have the advantage of looking at the pictures untouched at full size down to the pixel level. πŸ˜‰

      It’s the size of a 600mm+ setup that concerns me most.

      All my equipment was purchased for portability by design. I need to be able to take what I have when I hike into remote places.

      For example, for a primary telephoto I got the 70mm-200mm f/4 IS USM lens instead of the faster f/2.8 which is considerably bigger. The f/2.8 is almost twice the price, too, but that did not figure into it. Ironically, the cheaper, more portable lens actually has a little better optical quality. I think that’s because it has fewer elements.

      That tele is easy to hike with.

      I have a 300mm fixed focal length that I get to 600mm with a 2X extender. Even the 300mm is to big to hike with very far. I was amazed to discover that 2X extenders had improved to the point they don’t degrade image quality noticeably. They mostly just cut lens speed in half. I did extensive testing to prove to myself the quality is maintained. Camera shake is my worst enemy.

      Any reach > than 600mm is definitely not portable. lol!!!

  3. well, to me they are fabulous. πŸ™‚

  4. azleader says:

    Thank you for your very kind remarks.

Leave a Reply

