Goblins and Hobgoblins

A real Hobgoblin hidden in a stone disguise

For the adventuresome landscape photographer there are some places you can’t pass by. One such place is “Little Finland”. It was dubbed that by German photographer Stephen Synnatske for the tiny protruding fins off its gargoyle-like rock formations.

Locals just call the place “The Hobgoblins”.

His Eminence – The “Holey” See

Destroyer bearing down on its target

It is a place of strange, bizarre shapes. The local Makitup Indians say the stone goblins and hobgoblins are empowered with ancient magic.

The Makitups say they can come to life and the goblins do not like to be disturbed.

Little Finland’s anti-aircraft defenses

Thus, my fate was sealed when I ventured all alone into the magical land of stone goblins this very morning.

There is only one logical explanation for what happened next…
I’d climbed a ledge to get a better lighting angle on one of the rock formations when I was blind-sided from behind.

I tumbled off the precipice, totally out of control. I had two instant thoughts…

In the movie I, Robot Will Smith and a 12-year old girl are about to drown after an auto accident. A robot suddenly shows up but can save only one of them. Smith cries out, “Save the girl!” The robot saves Smith instead.

As I tumbled, rag-doll down the ledge my first thought was, “Save the camera!”

My second thought was, “If I break something, especially one or both of those leg thingies, it would be bad!”

The good news is the cliff wasn’t more than a few stories high. I only had my camera and GPS on my person at the time. The bad news is it hurt like heck as I banged my way down. I was worse for the wear at the bottom.

Right hand that bravely saved the Canon 5DII

The mountain goat hobgoblin that got me!!

If tumbling while saving camera equipment were an Olympic sport, I’d have medaled! During uncontrolled rolling I deftly transferred the camera to my left hand just an instant before bracing for the landing with my right hand.

How I got pushed…
A mountain goat hobgoblin transformed to a real mountain goat just long enough to head-butt me off the cliff! By the time the dust cleared and I looked back up, he was already turned back into stone again.

My pants were ripped, leg got all scratched up and both hands lost skin.

My first aid kit was in the car, of course. But being the ever resourceful photographer, I pulled out lens cleaners from my pockets and used them to clean the wounds. They are soaked in isopropyl alcohol. 🙂

I gallantly pushed on to finish the morning photo safari. I threatened every goblin in sight!

That’s my story… just a typical day in the life of a wilderness landscape photographer.

More hobgoblins in Little Finland…

Angry Bird

The Goblin’s War Cry

The USS Hobgoblin

About azleader

Learning to see life more clearly... one image at a time!
This entry was posted in Desert, Geology, Landscape, life, Little Finland, Nevada, Photo, Photography, photos. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Goblins and Hobgoblins

  1. Wiepkjen says:

    Quite a story. The landscape is amazing but does not look like a place where any creature could live (except goblins of course). Are you sure you were on planet Earth? Looks like Mars to me.If you had been seriously hurt you probably would have been in deep trouble.
    Great shots btw.

  2. azleader says:

    Tis true I would have been in trouble if hurt… The two days and one night I went in and out I did not see a single vehicle or person. Obviously, I wasn’t hurt bad enough to ruin my sense of humor. 😉

  3. Sartenada says:

    Although I am a Finn, I have never heard about this place. Maybe I have to put it on my travel list.

    Thank You presenting these photos. Welcome to see in my newest post how is the UFO house which, visited.

    • azleader says:

      Synnatske named it for its geology, not for any connection to the country of Finland. But it is a world class landscape photo site worthy to be put on anyone’s travel list.

Leave a Reply

