The Kettle House

Some unexpected encounters will arrest a wayward landscape photographer dead in his tracks. I could not ignore its beckoning siren’s song. It silently screamed out to be photographed. It begs the timeless question, “What the… ?”

My theory… this is where the “Old Woman Who Lived in a Shoe” moved to escape the kids.

Anyone who has ever driven out to the end of Galveston Island, recognizes this place. You can’t miss it. It’s plainly visible in a wide-open space 80 feet off the main drag that traverses the length of the island.

It is half a rusted metal sphere with a roof on top resting on a cracked circular cement slab.

Legend has it that it was built in the 1950s by a mysterious stranger who made steel storage tanks for oil companies.  Some neighbors claimed to have seen him long ago, but do not know his name nor what became of him.

My theory… he ran off with the “Old Woman Who Lived in a Shoe” and they lived happily ever after in “Old Mother Hubbard’s Cupboard”.

The End

About azleader

Learning to see life more clearly... one image at a time!
This entry was posted in Art, Cityscape, Culture, Landscape, Lifestyle, Photo, Photography, Texas, Thoughts, travel. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Kettle House

  1. momsasaurus says:

    Fascinating! I would love to have met the person who dreamed this thing up…

  2. araneus1 says:

    holy shit, that’s cool!

  3. benrowef64 says:

    To me it looks like the bottom half of an alien space ship. They came to earth liked the view and settled down. Really cool.

  4. Leanne Cole says:

    You know I got onto google maps, I’ve been trying to find it, not that I can go and really visit it, but I do love to find these things just for, I don’t know, fun. So I’ve been trying to find it, thinking it would stand out, no luck yet, but it is an incredible structure, and I love the idea of the old lady, and the old man, perhaps there is a modern day story in there somewhere.

  5. Sartenada says:

    Wow. This is very interesting. It belongs to the same serries than:

    I visited a “UFO house”.

Leave a Reply

